top of page

My First Post

April 6, 2024

My Major and Who I Am


My name is Carissa Saxton and I am currently a sophomore at The University of Wisconsin Eau Claire studying Rehabilitation Science - Pre Physical Therapy. When I am not busy with my classwork or research, I enjoy weightlifting, running, as well as spending time with my family and friends. I grew up in a small town located in southern Minnesota. I spent all of my childhood playing sports and consistently being active on our family farm. Living an active and healthy lifestyle while growing up played a major role in my interest in the medical field, specifically rehabilitative services.


I have had many life experiences that have contributed to my interest in a career in Rehabilitation. My journey started when I went through many sports injuries including ankle sprains, IT Band Syndrome, and a major hamstring strain that required me to attend physical therapy myself. Experiencing physical therapy as a patient showed me how rehabilitation can benefit many people at many different ages which influenced my desire to pursue a career in physical therapy. 



The opportunities I have had shadowing physical therapists has hugely impacted my interest in becoming a physical therapist. I learned the impact that physical therapists can have on their patients while observing in an outpatient clinic in my hometown. Each of them were constantly busy with patients, and I saw each one make an effort to create a connection with each person that they worked with. The relationships that were formed created a positive environment for the rehabilitation process. Watching these interactions was an experience that has contributed immensely to my interest in a career in Rehabilitation Science. The life experiences I have had, led to my passion to pursue a career in physical therapy. 


Joining McNair 


Throughout my time at the university, I have been involved in Track and Field, KINs Club, as well as becoming a McNair Scholar this semester. I got involved in the McNair program when I was given a research opportunity through Dr. Beltz. Dr. Beltz is a professor at The University of Wisconsin Eau Claire where he teaches in the Kinesiology department while also working in the Exercise Physiology lab. Our research project, the “Validation of bioelectric impedance analysis to track off season body composition changes in Division III American football players,” provided me with the opportunity to become a McNair Scholar. While being a part of the McNair program, I have completed the first data collection of our research project while also diving deeper into the graduate school process. Although McNair has provided me with a research opportunity, I will not be as focused on research while in graduate school. Instead, our current research project will increase my opportunities for a wide range of Doctorate of Physical Therapy programs.



Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Hi, thanks for stopping by!

I'm a paragraph. Click here to add your own text and edit me. I’m a great place for you to tell a story and let your users know a little more about you.

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page